Ayurveda and the Doshas – Definition

By , About.com Guide

Ayurveda, ancient medical/holistic system from the vedic civilization of India, teaches that health is maintained by the balancing of three subtle energies known as Doshas – individually they are Vatha, Pitta and Kapha.

This system teaches maintenance and protection of the whole person (mind, body and soul). Ayurvedic medicine is based on an individual’s characteristics and body frame rather than oriented toward treating disease or sickness.

Each of us are made up of a combination of the three types of doshas. The three doshas are comprised of these five universal elements:

  1. space
  2. air
  3. earth
  4. fire
  5. water

Vatha is a combination of air and space.

Pitta is mostly fire with some water.

Kapha is mostly water with some earth.

Overall well-being and striving for longevity depends on keeping your doshas balanced. Any imbalance among the tridoshas causes a state of unhealthiness or disease. Factors that can bring about balance of the tridoshas are diet, exercise, good digestion, and elimination of toxins. You can follow the three links below to evaluate the characteristics of each dosha to consider if you are predominately one dosha or would be classified as a combo-energy such as vatha-pitta or vatha-kapha, or pitta-kapha, and so on.