Yoga and addiction


A few days ago as I was flipping the last days of my “365 Daily Yoga Meditations” calendar, I found this thought to reflect on, and I’d like to share it with you, especially with  my yoga friends:

Many yoga students struggle to find adequate time to practice in their busy lives. For others, yoga often becomes an obsession. These students become very attached to their yoga. Notice if you can commit to a daily practice without over-identifying with, or becoming dependent on it. – By Julie Rappaport, Daily Yoga Meditations

This is a conversation I’ve had several times with my teachers, and a tendency I’ve observed not only in the yoga world but also in other wellness areas. Life is about finding balance, and any excess even on the healthiest side can create attachment, leading to obsession and addiction… Carrots are full of antioxidants but eating too many carrots will make your look orangish “like a carrot”! It’s not always easy to find a point of balance in everything, but it’s a good start to be mindful about any excess to avoid extremes and being “caught” in them.

