Oatmeal and Coconut Cookies with Natural Sweeteners


In the past few years – and more so, months – I’ve researched, explored and tried different natural sweeteners as an alternative to sugar. And I finally posted the results of my personal research project through a series of articles on sugar, honey, maple syrup, agave, stevia, coconut sugar, and xylitol.

I love cooking, but to be honest my inspiration springs out of salty foods and not much on baking… Thus, to find motivation and inspiration in order to (I admit that’s my greatest motivation) satisfy my boyfriend’s sweet tooth in a healthy way, I recently bought a book on sale that caught my attention as I was wandering through the Bargain’s Shelves of a Barnes and Noble store:

Green Market Baking Book – 100 Delicious Recipes for Naturally Sweet & Savory Treats by Laura C. Martin

Last night, after a yoga home practice led by Shiva Rea (I’m trying out MyYogaOnline this month) followed by delightful unwinding meditation, and as a cold front was approaching Dallas and cooling the air off, I was in the right space and state of mind to try out my baking skills!

I started with a pretty simple cookie recipe found on page 123 of my new baking book. I gathered all my ingredients and based on what I had and what I didn’t have, I slightly tweak it for a yummy result! (I made a batch of 12 cookies even though the recipe called for 24, as a try out – and there’s just one left today!)

So after testing and tasting it, it is truly possible: you can sweeten your life with comforting and flavorful baked goods, without compromising your health with Evil Sugar;)

… And here’s my first cookie recipe to share.

Oatmeal, Nuts and Coconut Cookies
inspired by the Oatmeal Raisin Cookies recipe on page 123 of Green Market Baking Book – 100 Delicious Recipes for Naturally Sweet & Savory Treats)

Ingredients for 12 cookies:

1/4 chopped pecans

3/4 stick of organic unsalted butter at room temperature

1/2 cup coconut sugar

1/4 cup maple syrup

1/8 cup apple sauce (we ran out of eggs…)

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 cup organic whole wheat flour

1/8 cup organic white wheat flour

1/8 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon baking powder

1/8 teaspoon grated nutmeg

3/4 cup organic rolled oats

1/8 cup unsweetened grated dry coconut or coconut flakes

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F (175° celsius).
  2. Toast the chopped pecans at 350°F for about 7 minutes. Mix with 1/2 tablespoon of butter while hot, and set aside.
  3. Place the remaining butter* in a mixing bowl. Add progressively the coconut sugar to the butter mixing it well (I used a fork at first and then switching to a spatula), and scraping the sides of the bowl as necessary.

    Cookie batter

    Mixing the coconut sugar and the butter

  4. Using the spatula, gradually add the maple syrup and mix until the ingredients blend well together.
  5. Switching to a hand whisk, add the apple sauce and the vanilla extract until the batter gets light and fluffy.
  6. In a separate bowl, mix the flours with the salt, baking powder, nutmeg, and oats.
  7. Add gradually the dry mix to the wet mixture.
  8. Fold in the nuts and the grated dry coconut or flakes.
  9. Drop the batter by large spoonfuls onto a baking sheet covered with parchment paper.
  10. Bake the cookies for about 12 minutes, or until the edges start to brown. DON’T overbake.
  11. Remove the cookies from the oven. Let them on the baking sheet for a minute or so. And then cool on a wire rack, or on your granite counter top, if you have one (that’s what I did, as I don’t have a wire rack…).

*I took the butter out of the fridge right before making the recipe, so it was pretty hard when I needed to mix it with the coconut sugar… I cut it in small pieces in the bowl, and let it soften for a minute or so in the oven before working the coconut sugar in it. 

And voilà, yummy healthy, refined sugar free cookies to savor with your favorite drink! (my boyfriend Ray picked a glass of milk, I preferred a homemade chocolate)

Sugar Free Oatmeal and Coconut Cookies

Oatmeal and Coconut Cookies baked with natural sweeteners

