Jalapeño Pesto


Do you know what this is...?

Guess what this is…?†

A few days ago, as we were saying goodbye to one of our dear yoga teachers – who’s moving to Colorado… we’ll miss you Sally Kate! – I was introduced by Barb to an amazing dip that she specially got for the occasion: a jalapeño pesto from The Gem in Dallas. Every bite of it combined with a delicious hummus and flax seed chips, was so flavorful!

I paid close attention to all the different layers of flavors to determine a list of ingredients… so I could try to recreate it in my kitchen! And I did the first try out experiment the very following day (when I still freshly remembered the taste), followed by an ‘encore’ today (yes, it is THAT good).

It’s probably not The Gem’s exact secret recipe, but I believe I got really, really close, and I love mine at least as much as the original one – maybe even more.

Simple, easy, and super yummy…

Ingredients:jalapeno

1/2 – 2/3 cup of raw cashew nuts

1 fresh jalapeño*

1/4 cup of freshly chopped cilantro*

1/4 avocado

1 small garlic clove (or 1/2 medium)

1 lime or 1/2 lemon juice*

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1/2 tbsp water (or organic veggie broth)

salt and pepper

*Prefer organic for these ingredients to avoid adding pesticides to your dip.

Preparation:

Throw all the ingredients in a hand blender (I personally use the chopping bowl accessory for this one) if available, or in a regular blender. Blend as coarse or as fine as desired.

Serve with pita bread, or chips, or veggies, or in a sandwich, or with a baked potato, or eat with your finger! Let me know if you find other dishes or ways to eat it;)

Ayurvedically Speaking:

Overall this is a great dip for Vata people:

Avocado – good for vata and pitta

Cashew nuts – good for vata

Cilantro – good for all three doshas

Garlic – good for vata and kapha

Jalapeño – good for kapha, ok for vata in moderation

† It’s a fresh cashew in its pod – called a cashew apple! (More info: http://www.wpu.edu.ph/cashew/module2/textentry-template.html)

