Ayurvedic Spiced Nut Milk


The Spring time ayurvedically speaking is the season of year ruled by Kapha dosha and the elements of Water and Earth. Spring is the season for shedding, cleansing, and letting go of anything that doesn’t serve us! So one of the nutritional rules is to reduce or totally avoid dairies.

That’s when for a few weeks to a couple months, I usually switch to a vegan, or at least a dairy-free vegetarian diet.

Personally, I don’t quite like store-bought nut milks: they contain little nuts, sugar or sweeteners, and additional ingredients such as locust, xantham, gellan gum or carrageenan to add texture – and until further conclusive research on those additives and their potential impact on health, I’m trying to avoid them.

So I decided to try out making a homemade nut milk with my Vitamix*, and added an Ayurvedic touch to it to make it yummier and healthier.

I must say, it came out pretty good! Now, I can use this milk for my chai, for a coffee treat, and even for my evening Golden Milk before bed;)

Homemade nut milk made with my Vitamix

Homemade nut milk made with my Vitamix

Here’s the basic recipe:

1/2 cup pre-soaked (overnight) and peeled raw almonds

1/2 cup soaked cashews (they don’t require as much soaking as almonds, just a couple hours will do)

1/4 cup of toasted unsalted sunflower seeds

2 tbsp ground flaxseeds

1 tsp pure vainilla extract

1 pinch of himalayan salt

2 quarts of water

And for extra flavoring:

2-3 medjool dates

1 tsp blend of ground cardamom, cinnamon, ginger, and a few threads of saffron

Instructions:

  1. Blend all the basic recipe ingredients in your Vitamix, starting a slow speed and increasing progressively to finally switch to high speed for a few minutes (I forgot to time myself, but 3-4 minutes should do it).
  2. Strain the resulting milk through a nut milk bag or a fine strainer.
  3. Pour the resulting strained milk back into the Vitamix bowl, and add the dates and the spices. Blend well.
  4. You may pour the resulting spiced milk in a glass bottle or airtight jar, and you keep it in the fridge to enjoy within 3-5 days.

*If you don’t have a Vitamix, you might use a regular blender – but you’ll get more residue. BTW I got my refurbished Vitamix for a really good deal on Amazon, just sayin’!

 

